LaFleur left perplexed by disputed hold call, questions remain about officials' interpretation.
Green Bay Packers coach Matt LaFleur expressed frustration following a disputed holding call on right tackle Darnell Wright, which went uncalled during Sunday's game against the Chicago Bears. The play in question saw Wright wrap his arm around star linebacker Micah Parsons as he made a tackle for a 24-yard loss just before the two-minute warning.
LaFleur acknowledged that the officials disagreed with him on the matter, and it was clear he felt it was a missed call. However, he declined to elaborate on what he said to the officials or how his concerns were addressed. The Packers' coach simply stated that "I thought there was one that certainly was questionable" but ultimately accepted the result.
LaFleur's comments have raised questions about the officials' interpretation of holding in the NFL. While he seemed genuinely perplexed by the call, many observers felt it was a clear and obvious infraction. LaFleur himself admitted that he "don't know what holding is anymore," suggesting a possible lack of clarity on the rule.
The Packers were able to secure a 28-21 victory over the Bears despite the disputed call. Micah Parsons was relatively quiet in Sunday's game, but his team's performance ultimately secured the win. The incident highlights ongoing challenges facing officials in accurately enforcing key NFL rules, including holding.
Green Bay Packers coach Matt LaFleur expressed frustration following a disputed holding call on right tackle Darnell Wright, which went uncalled during Sunday's game against the Chicago Bears. The play in question saw Wright wrap his arm around star linebacker Micah Parsons as he made a tackle for a 24-yard loss just before the two-minute warning.
LaFleur acknowledged that the officials disagreed with him on the matter, and it was clear he felt it was a missed call. However, he declined to elaborate on what he said to the officials or how his concerns were addressed. The Packers' coach simply stated that "I thought there was one that certainly was questionable" but ultimately accepted the result.
LaFleur's comments have raised questions about the officials' interpretation of holding in the NFL. While he seemed genuinely perplexed by the call, many observers felt it was a clear and obvious infraction. LaFleur himself admitted that he "don't know what holding is anymore," suggesting a possible lack of clarity on the rule.
The Packers were able to secure a 28-21 victory over the Bears despite the disputed call. Micah Parsons was relatively quiet in Sunday's game, but his team's performance ultimately secured the win. The incident highlights ongoing challenges facing officials in accurately enforcing key NFL rules, including holding.